Advisory Council Bios - Literacy Volunteers of Doña Ana County
page-template-default,page,page-id-490,page-child,parent-pageid-474,bridge-core-2.9.9,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,qode-page-loading-effect-enabled,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1200,footer_responsive_adv,hide_top_bar_on_mobile_header,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-28.3,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.7.0,vc_responsive

                        Our Members

President / Council Chair Linda Coshenet, Linda is a life-long learner with a desire for people to love reading like she does. Literacy Volunteers is a direct way to help adult literacy. She enjoys working with the council and is a New Mexico native. She thinks our county, state, and nation can grow only when everyone is literate and able to participate in all aspects of life.

Literacy Facilitator Barbara Shaffer is a long time Las Cruces resident and experienced TESOL instructor who has taught in Central America as well as here in New Mexico. She matches students with tutors and runs the day-to-day operations for the program.

Vice President / Vice Chair Dr. Anita Hernandez is the Don and Sarah Kidd Endowed Chair in Literacy at NMSU.

Treasurer Dr. Dylan Retzinger, began tutoring at Literacy Volunteers in 2010. He currently teaches at DACC and NMSU.  

Director  Susan Yasenka, worked as an Education Facilitator, then later as Literacy Coordinator for LV-DAC.  Certified Tutor Trainer through ProLiteracy.  Certified Teacher Trainer through English Forward and the Texas Collation for Literacy.  College ESL and HSE Instructor.  Master’s Degree in Curriculum and Instruction from NMSU.  Currently, coordinator/Instructor for the ACCE Program in Southern NM through UNM.  PhD candidate in Curriculum and Instruction at NMSU.

Click here to go back to Advisory Council tab.